About us

The Wellington City Council is made up of 15 elected representatives — the Mayor and 14 Councillors. It’s their job to set the city’s overall strategic direction, approve budgets, make bylaws, policies and plans aimed at achieving that direction. A key part of their role is to listen to and take the pulse of the community before making decisions.

The Mayor and Councillors are supported in their role by the Tawa and Makara/Ohariu community boards. A number of advisory groups also provide input into policy development and implementation. We work with our Treaty partners, the Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust and Te Rūnanga o Toa Rangatira, and provide formal opportunities for mana whenua to participate in decision-making and have their stake in the city appropriately recognised.

The elected representatives are assisted by the Council’s chief executive and staff, who provide advice, implement Council decisions, and look after the city’s day to day operations.